Change CAT Tool - how do I keep my TM?
Thread poster: Claudia Lerch
Claudia Lerch
Local time: 16:50
German to Italian
May 17

Hi! I've been working with Across for 4 years now, never updating my first version. As I now changed PC, I thought to download the newest version... what a mistake! I can no longer check out my translations, in order to do it, I must "upgrade", which costs 20 Euro a month! For my amount of work it is too much. Therefore I need to change CAT Tool. The problem is, I don't want to loose all the TM and the terms I built up in 4 years. Can somebody help? Thank you!!!

Direct link Reply with quote

CafeTran Training
Netherlands
Member (2016)
Export to TMX/TBX/CSV? May 18

Claudia Lerch wrote:

Hi! I've been working with Across for 4 years now, never updating my first version. As I now changed PC, I thought to download the newest version... what a mistake! I can no longer check out my translations, in order to do it, I must "upgrade", which costs 20 Euro a month! For my amount of work it is too much. Therefore I need to change CAT Tool. The problem is, I don't want to loose all the TM and the terms I built up in 4 years. Can somebody help? Thank you!!!

Doesn't Across offer a way to export your previous work? E.g. export translation memories to TMX and glossaries to TBX or CSV?

If this isn't possible: can you open its databases with Microsoft Access? Are these data encrypted?

There are some certified Across trainers present here, e.g. this one http://www.proz.com/profile/77068.

[Edited at 2017-05-18 09:01 GMT]

Claudia Lerch
German to Italian
TOPIC STARTER
How about import? May 18

Hi, thanks for your reply. Yes, it seems I can export the database, but do other CAT tool allow importing? Is it no problem? I am not so good at programming round.... No need to ask: as I need a new tool, you would recommend CafeTran, wouldn't you?

CafeTran Training
Netherlands
Member (2016)
Other CAT tools can import TMX May 19

Claudia Lerch wrote: