Prices and rates
Thread poster: Lubna Asmar

Lubna Asmar
Lebanon
Local time: 07:51
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jul 6, 2004

I am Lebanese. i graduated rencently from the translation university and i have no idea about the rates of translators or the prices that clients are willing to pay for translating and proofreading. Can you help me here, pls?

Direct link Reply with quote

Nesrin  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:51
English to Arabic
+ ...
No easy answer Jul 7, 2004

Hi Loul,
If you are thinking of doing work for clients & agencies worldwide, then it's a good idea to keep your rates flexible. Rates vary greatly from one country to another, and if you set your rates too high, you might lose clients in certain countries, and if you set them too low, clients in other countries might exploit your services and pay you much less than what they would usually pay. I think your first step should be to find out about the rates of translators living in Lebanon, because that's where most of your clients will probably come from, in the beginning at least. Set your rates somewhere below the average, as you are still quite new, with little experience, and you should try to get an edge on your competitors. You should then try to find out about the range of translation rates in different countries (for example, by browsing through translators' profiles on Proz). In any case, you will often find that translation agencies that contact you with jobs already have their fixed rates, and it's for you to take or leave.
Good luck
Nesrin

Lubna Asmar
Lebanon
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jul 8, 2004

Thank you Nesrin

xxxSaifa
Local time: 06:51
German to French
+ ...
translators' association Jul 11, 2004

Hi Loul,

Perhaps it would be a good idea to become a member of the translators' organization in Lebanon (if there is any); there, you could ask about the rates and many other questions.