Mobile menu

Qatari Arabic
Thread poster: ArabInk
Local time: 10:21
English to Arabic
+ ...
Sep 3, 2004

I'll be on my way to Qatar sometime this fall. Can anybody help me with the dialect? Is it more like Saudi or more like Iraqi? There are some books available for Iraqi and also some for Hejazi (US Foreign Service materials) but I don't know which is best.

Direct link Reply with quote

Aisha Maniar  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:21
Member (2003)
Arabic to English
+ ...
(possibly) useful books Sep 3, 2004

Hello there,
I'm not an expert on Arabic dialectology, but I have heard from friends who have travelled to the region that Qatari Arabic is quite similar to Gulf Arabic. Of course, there are probably slight regional variations, but that happens to all languages and in all places. A couple of books that were used to teach people who wanted to learn Gulf Arabic when I was at university and which were considered quite good were:
C. Holes, Gulf Arabic, Routledge, 1990
and C. Holes, Colloquial Arabic of the Gulf and Saudi Arabia, Routledge, 1984
I hope that's of some help, although the correct materials would really depend on the purpose of your travel.
Have a good trip!

R Farhat  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:21
Member (2004)
English to Arabic
+ ...
Qatari dialect Sep 3, 2004

I could say it is more like eastern-Saudi, UAE and Kuwait dialects. It is not similar to Iraqi, and in general, it's only the pronounciation that sounds similar -that is the "tone".
It's not difficult to understand at all, and mainly, the Gulf dialects are more likely closer to plain Arabic. So I guess you won't have a problem after a couple of weeks there.
good luck.

Fuad Yahya  Identity Verified
+ ...
Closer to Bahraini Sep 6, 2004

The Qataris I have met spoke a dialect that was closest to the Bahraini dialect. It is certainly very different from the Iraqi dialect.