Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5] >
On accreditations and university degrees.
Thread poster: Bertha S. Deffenbaugh
Bertha S. Deffenbaugh
Bertha S. Deffenbaugh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:52
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 11, 2002

Being a professional myself, and with my own degrees I must admit that ,unfortunately accreditations and university degrees sometimes mean little.

I have come across many professionals who had their diplomas nicely framed but whose knowledge left much to be desired.

I have come across translators who read only the documents to be translated, and whose literary training, for example, is null. Personally, I think to become a good translator you must be, first,[ or
... See more
Being a professional myself, and with my own degrees I must admit that ,unfortunately accreditations and university degrees sometimes mean little.

I have come across many professionals who had their diplomas nicely framed but whose knowledge left much to be desired.

I have come across translators who read only the documents to be translated, and whose literary training, for example, is null. Personally, I think to become a good translator you must be, first,[ or have been] a good reader.

It is all right with having a University Diploma or an accreditation. Who could deny that? But, we have to admit that , unfortunately, intelligence does not come in the same package.

Can we deny that we have come across brilliant people who had no university diplomas whatsoever? I think this idea that the most intelligent follow a career or that the least intelligent are those who do not study or go to university, is all wrong. As a teacher I had brilliant students who hated studying, but whose remarks everybody was interested in listening to. Why? Simple: They were brilliant. And the majority of the most outstanding personalities in the literary and artistic world are people who admit to not having even finished high school.