Mobile menu

New to Freelancing - Need to know how fast is considered good.
Thread poster: petermartins

petermartins  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:47
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Oct 6, 2004

I'm new to freelance translating. But I've spent the last year translating (english>portuguese) how-to manuals for the company I work for. I'm native in both languages. I've known how to read, write and speak them both since I was 6. But I have no idea how fast I should be doing it (words/h). I wouldn't want to start freelancing and not be able to comply to regular schedules or maybe cheating on my employers.

Direct link Reply with quote
xxxMurielP  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:47
French to English
+ ...
Average of about 2000 words/day Oct 6, 2004

Hello Peter,

Welcome to freelancing! It seems to be around 2000 words per day (at least here in the UK) but obviously this is very much dependant on the document you are translating. You need to see how much you can do in a day remaining confident and comfortable with the quality of your work. You will soon be able to rate your speed as I think this is personal. There's no need to rush a job if you're not going to do a good job of it. You can also have a look at the ITI website ( where you will find useful tips on how to get started.

Hope this helps.
Good luck.

Kevin Fulton
United States
Local time: 02:47
German to English
You'll get faster with time Oct 6, 2004

You're better off taking your time and producing a quality product rather than trying to crank out 3000 words/day with a mediocre result.

As Muriel indicated, 2000 words/day is a realistic goal, and over time, as you become more experienced, you'll be able to exceed that. But you'll also learn to promise no more than 2000-2500, even though your capacity might be greater. Reason: Murphy's Law: if anything can go wrong, it will.

Your typing skills are also a factor. I'm sure I could produce more if I ever learned to type properly.

Henry Dotterer