Monica Castell  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:54
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 20, 2004

Dear all,

I'm Spanish but I live in Belgium, where I'm a freelancer (I have a belgian TVA number, I pay my taxes and everything here). By the end of January my husband and I are moving to New York, with a visa allowing me to live and work in the United States. I have several questions...
- What are the steps to work as a freelancer in the United States?
- Should I continue to "pay in Belgium" and work in the States? or
-Should I stop my activity in Belgium and star
... See more
Dear all,

I'm Spanish but I live in Belgium, where I'm a freelancer (I have a belgian TVA number, I pay my taxes and everything here). By the end of January my husband and I are moving to New York, with a visa allowing me to live and work in the United States. I have several questions...
- What are the steps to work as a freelancer in the United States?
- Should I continue to "pay in Belgium" and work in the States? or
-Should I stop my activity in Belgium and start it in the States? But how?

I hope my message is clear enough (my ideas about this are not very clear at the moment...).

I thank you all in advance.

All the best,

Mònica
Collapse

vorloff
vorloff
Bosnian to English
+ ...
Freelancing in the US Dec 20, 2004

Hi Monica,

The first thing that I would recommend that you do is become a member of the ATA (American Translators Assoc.) by which you will be included in their online database of translators (and eventually the print version). Then look into becoming certified by them for your language pair. I cannot see any reason to stop your activities in Belgium, as you will not have to pay taxes on the money you make until you move to the US, it will take you some time to establish a clientele
... See more
Hi Monica,