Mobile menu

Germany - translation + teaching - Rentenversicherung
Thread poster: Louise Mawbey
Louise Mawbey  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:21
German to English
Feb 21, 2005

I work as a freelance translator in Germany. As I am freelance I am not obliged to pay into the German state pension scheme and so I have my own private pension policy.

As I am actually a trained teacher my son's school have asked me if I would be interested in supply teaching. They usually employ supply teachers on a 400 EUR per month basis, freeing them from the need to pay into the pension scheme. However I have heard that all teachers who earn over this 400 eur have to pay 19.5% of their earnings into the state scheme (other freelancers do not have to do this).
With my translation work and teaching work together I would earn more than 400 eur althought the teaching part would be less than 400 euros. Does this mean that I would have to pay this 19.5% or not?

Does anybody have any experience with this? All help would be gratefully received.

Direct link Reply with quote

Steffen Walter  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
English to German
+ ...
Post in German forum as well? Feb 21, 2005

Hi Louise,

Perhaps it might be a good idea to post this in the German forum as well since this issue is very specific to Germany.

My 2 cents worth,

Steffen

Germany
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
A good idea Feb 22, 2005

Thanks, Steffen, I think that's a good idea. Just means letting everyone know how bad my written German is though!!

AnnikaLight  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
This site might help... Feb 23, 2005

Hi Louise,

Check out this site: http://www.erwin-denzler.de/sv-dozenten/

Hope this helps

Annika

Caroline Brügge
Germany
German to English
Bundesversicherungsanstalt Tel. No. Feb 24, 2005