Am I too expensive?
Thread poster: Nicola O'Brien
Nicola O'Brien
Spain
Local time: 15:01
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 6, 2002

I am new to proz.com but have been very impressed with the quality of the advice offered. Therefore I come before you, begging your honest opinions. I recently submitted an offer for translating a magazine (approx. 12000 words) from Spanish into English. The original translation was dreadful (e.g.IV Centenario as 400th Centenary). My price was 0,09 Euros per word. After chasing them for two weeks trying to get an answer, I was informed today that my charges were far too high, at more than three times the budget. My gut feeling is that their budget is much too low for such a volume of work. Am I wrong? If so, what would be an acceptable rate?
[addsig]

Direct link Reply with quote

Bob Kerns  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 16:01
Member (2002)
German to English
No ! Jun 6, 2002

If anything your price per word is a little low for Europe. In this case you\'re either dealing with an agency who wants to rip off new translators or an end customer who hasn\'t got a clue as to what the normal rate is for a translation.

Just ignore them!

Emanuela Corbetta  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:01
English to Italian
+ ...
sort of, Jun 6, 2002

for Spain the rate is aprox.0.05 Euro/word.

I know it is a \"miseria\", how we say in Italian but it is the reality

xxxPaul Roige
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Spain is different Jun 6, 2002

but then, where else can a Brit get a week holiday in a 3-star hotel by the beach for 100 pounds, all included? Not in Germany for sure.

It\'s crazy here.

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
STICK TO YOUR RATES Jun 6, 2002

The market bends. It\'ll wise up.

Anthony Green  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to English
Yes of course you're too expensive ... Jun 6, 2002