https://www.proz.com/forum/being_independent/32279-information_for_books_translation.html

Information for books translation
Thread poster: Maika Vicente Navarro
Maika Vicente Navarro
Maika Vicente Navarro  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 18:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 12, 2005

Hello to everybody,
I am a freelance translator who is still getting stablished; I have few clients so far. I would like to work as book translator (fiction and non-fiction), but I have no idea on where to begin:
How should I proceed? How to know whether a book has been translated?
Who have I to contact to translate a book?
How much do I rate per word? My language pairs are English>Spanish and French>Spanish.
Etc.
If any one could help and guide me I would re
... See more
Hello to everybody,
I am a freelance translator who is still getting stablished; I have few clients so far. I would like to work as book translator (fiction and non-fiction), but I have no idea on where to begin:
How should I proceed? How to know whether a book has been translated?
Who have I to contact to translate a book?
How much do I rate per word? My language pairs are English>Spanish and French>Spanish.
Etc.
If any one could help and guide me I would really gratefull.
Thank you very much to everyone in advnace,
Maika Vicente
Collapse

FullCircle (X)
FullCircle (X)
Netherlands
Local time: 10:48
English to Dutch
Get in touch with publishers May 13, 2005

Hi Maika,

I started translating books recently. I have looked on the internet for publishers that publish books on topics I like. Then I tried to find out contact details and names of editors. And I just started calling them. Most have asked me to send them my CV and a couple reacted by asking me to do a test translation. Some have sent me whole chapters, others just a few pages. And I'm working on my first book now. So it can lead to results very quickly.

About rates:
... See more
Hi Maika,