https://www.proz.com/forum/being_independent/8129-networking_with_other_freelancers_any_experiences_what_do_you_think_about_the_business_aspects_of.html

Networking with other freelancers - any experiences? What do you think about the business aspects of
Thread poster: Daniel Meier
Daniel Meier
Daniel Meier  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:47
English to German
+ ...
Jan 30, 2003

Being a freelance translator can be quite a challenge, doing \"everything\" on your own. On the other hand you miss the benefits of team work. Since I have no experience networking with other translators, I am just curious, what do you think about networking. Especially when you did or do networking, did it work? If it did not work, why was it so? Which advice would you give to a group of translators, which wants to start networking? Obviously these questions are not about networking regarding m... See more
Being a freelance translator can be quite a challenge, doing \"everything\" on your own. On the other hand you miss the benefits of team work. Since I have no experience networking with other translators, I am just curious, what do you think about networking. Especially when you did or do networking, did it work? If it did not work, why was it so? Which advice would you give to a group of translators, which wants to start networking? Obviously these questions are not about networking regarding mutual help, I am thinking more about the business aspects of networking? How does it work when money is involved? (The previous version of my posting was not quite clear, I apologize.)

[ This Message was edited by:on2003-01-30 17:26]
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
The only way forward Jan 30, 2003

I strongly believe networking to be the answer to quite a number of challenges facing freelance translators, particularly competitive ones.

Obviously, the possibilities are endless - what I can offer is some of my own experience.