Mobile menu

Becoming a freelancer in France
Thread poster: Barbara Cashin

Barbara Cashin
Local time: 03:38
German to English
Jan 30, 2003

Hello Everyone,

I am an Irish translator working from German to English. I plan to go and live in France at the end of this year. However, I been reading that becoming a freelancer in France can be very difficult. Is there anyone out there with recent experience of this - particularly non-French nationals. Is the \"entreprise individuelle\" the best solution for freelancers?

Taking a round figure of € 20,000, what tax and social security would be payable? I have also heard that foreigners wishing to start a business in France must attend classes on running a business - book-keeping. Is this true?

I look forward to contributions.

Kind Regards

Barbara Cashin

bcashin@indigo.ie

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxWayne Sutton
Local time: 04:38
French to English
Portage Salarial Jan 31, 2003

The best way to start off is to use a system known as \"portage salarial\". It takes all the hassles out of the administrative side and means you only pay social security etc on what you earn. There is a good site if you want all the info www.guideduportage.com

Kaori Myatt  Identity Verified
France
Member (2004)
English to Japanese
+ ...
I am curious too. Feb 3, 2003

Have you seen the URL below??

They were talking about tax in France, how high it is...

I am curently living in Japan. Tax is about 17% here. I am planning to move to France in a year or so...with all my family!

In France, tax is much higher but I think social benefit is better though.

I don\'t know if the class for running bussiness is necessary or not but many people have their base office resistered in Britain because of high tax in France. I am thinking about having resistered in Britain too.

Good luck for your moving.

http://www.proz.com/?sp=bb/viewtopic&topic_id=7139&forum_id=18

Kaori

Brian KEEGAN
French to English
+ ...
independent in France Feb 10, 2003