Professional translators organisations - which one to choose?
Thread poster: HRiley
HRiley
HRiley  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:44
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jan 31, 2003

Hello,

I am thinking about joining one of the various professional organisations for translators (ITI, SFT...), but am really not sure which would be the most worthwhile.

If you could only recommend one, which would it be?

Is it best to stay \"local\" - which in my case would mean joining the SFT as I\'m based in France? Or would I be better off with ITI seeing as I\'m an EMT translator? I have an MSc in translation, so I haven\'t really consi
... See more
Hello,

I am thinking about joining one of the various professional organisations for translators (ITI, SFT...), but am really not sure which would be the most worthwhile.

If you could only recommend one, which would it be?

Is it best to stay \"local\" - which in my case would mean joining the SFT as I\'m based in France? Or would I be better off with ITI seeing as I\'m an EMT translator? I have an MSc in translation, so I haven\'t really considered the IoL, but perhaps I should...

If I could afford it, I\'d join as many as possible but unfortunately that\'s not an option right now
Collapse

Laura Gentili
Laura Gentili  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
My opinion Jan 31, 2003

I keep asking myself the same question. I think it very much depends on your target market/s. If it\'s mainly agencies based in France, join the local organization. If it\'s Europe, I would join either IOL or ITI in the UK (I nelieve they are the most prestigious ones in Europe).

If your target is the US, join ATA and get accredited in your language pair.

HTH,

Laura

Herbert Fipke
Herbert Fipke  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Always source language country orgs! Feb 3, 2003

Hi!