TRADOS: is freelance version entirely compatible with corporate?
Thread poster: Maria Forsyth
Maria Forsyth
English to Spanish
Mar 2, 2003

I am new to the field and I have seen several job postings for freelancer where they require Trados in order for you to get the job. Is Trados freelancer completely compatible with the corporate versions that clients have? Does Trados saves your translation in a non-MSWord that clients can just plug in in their own Trados software? Is that the reason why they require it? Thanks for any info, advice.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:03
English to German
+ ...
Ease of process integration Mar 2, 2003

Hi Maria,

Quote:

Is Trados freelancer completely compatible with the corporate versions that clients have?

Yes. Some restrictions may apply between versions 3.0 and 5.0/5.5, however, this does not affect translations in MS Word (the tagging format did not change from 3.0 to 5.0/5.5).

Essentially, the core components of Freelance and SPS are identical - the Freelance version being subject to some technical restrictions (number of active languages and missing network sharing capability being the most obvious).

Quote:
Does Trados saves your translation in a non-MSWord that clients can just plug in in their own Trados software? Is that the reason why they require it? Thanks for any info, advice.

For Word documents, I usually require freelancers to deliver the \"pre-cleanup\" document (= the document containing both the source and the target text, delimited by Trados tags). This will allow me to check the translation backed by my translation memory, but using the translator\'s work directly, without having to import anything.