Svanhild Aldal
Svanhild Aldal  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 21:03
English to Norwegian
+ ...
Apr 3, 2008

Hi,

I am a Norwegian translator who have just moved to Finland and started my freelance business here. I have just received a claim from an insurance company, stating that I have to pay 20% of my earning into a pensions fund. (In Finnish: Yrittäjän eläkevakuutus). So now I am wondering: In addition to tax, do I have to pay 20% of my earnings into this fund? That would mean that around 50% of my earnings are taken away... Any Finnish translators out there who knows about this?
... See more
Hi,

I am a Norwegian translator who have just moved to Finland and started my freelance business here. I have just received a claim from an insurance company, stating that I have to pay 20% of my earning into a pensions fund. (In Finnish: Yrittäjän eläkevakuutus). So now I am wondering: In addition to tax, do I have to pay 20% of my earnings into this fund? That would mean that around 50% of my earnings are taken away... Any Finnish translators out there who knows about this?

Thanks,
Svanhild
Collapse

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Yes and no Apr 3, 2008

As a business person registered with the tax office you must join the YEL. But you can declare your yearly income freely, as long as you work alone. If you employ someone your salary cannot be lower than what you pay to your employee.
The minimun yearly income is about 4500 e, but below 8500 e you have no health insurence.
I declared about 13000 e income and pay 270 e monthly, but my real income is of course higher. Because I have already worked earlier for 25 years in an enterprise
... See more
As a business person registered with the tax office you must join the YEL. But you can declare your yearly income freely, as long as you work alone. If you employ someone your salary cannot be lower than what you pay to your employee.