Time management for a part-time translator
Thread poster: wonita (X)
wonita (X)
wonita (X)
China
Local time: 09:56
Apr 18, 2008

Hello everyone,

I am a part-time translator. Apart from taking care of my kids, who are at school for only half of the days, I also work as a language teacher and a tourist guide if I get an order.

Normally, if there is no PC work, I check my e-mails only twice a day, once in the morning between 11 and 12, and once in the evening after the kids are in bed. Result: I lose some very interesting job offers, because the client needs an immediate confirmation.

... See more
Hello everyone,

I am a part-time translator. Apart from taking care of my kids, who are at school for only half of the days, I also work as a language teacher and a tourist guide if I get an order.

Normally, if there is no PC work, I check my e-mails only twice a day, once in the morning between 11 and 12, and once in the evening after the kids are in bed. Result: I lose some very interesting job offers, because the client needs an immediate confirmation.

On the other hand, if I left the computer on the whole day , I couldn't really concentrate on other things even if there is no correspondence with the client necessary.

I'd love to know how you manage your time if you are in a similiar situation.

Bin
Collapse

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 15:56
English to Dutch
+ ...
Smartphone/Blackberry Apr 18, 2008

I've recently arranged for email and Internet services on my cell phone/mobile.
Works really well.

I work almost full time as a freelancer, but I like to be away from the computer on 'slow' days and feel more comfortable in doing so if I know I can check my e-mail on the way.

It gives an acoustic signal when email comes in, and it automatically checks every hour or so (I think that's a personal setting). So I just keep my phone nearby and turn on the computer onl
... See more