Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How do you know if you are a good translator or not?
Thread poster: xxxwonita
xxxwonita
China
Local time: 12:07
Apr 18, 2008

Dear colleagues,

I have been doing translation on an irregular basis for roughly 4 years. Up until now, I have never had a complaint about the quality of my translation, neither have I got a positive feedback from any client.

How do I know if I am a good translator or not?

Direct link Reply with quote

Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
If you... Apr 18, 2008

...keep the same clients for many years, this tells a lot.
If you get recommendations from colleagues or clients that introduce you to other clients, this is also a telling sign.
If you raise your tariff and the client keeps on working with you, this is another good sign.

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:07
English to Spanish
+ ...
You'll know Apr 18, 2008

You will know in your own mind, no one will have to tell you. If you have doubts, then you will know that you need to need to progress further. It is all a matter of being honest with yourself.

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:07
English to German
+ ...
If you.. Apr 19, 2008

can read over old translations (that you probably can't even recall that you ever did them) and think: "This is good stuff! Who wrote this? Hey, I did! Yayyy!"

xxxLia Fail  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 16:07
Spanish to English
+ ...
self doubt is a good thing Apr 19, 2008

Henry Hinds wrote:

You will know in your own mind, no one will have to tell you. If you have doubts, then you will know that you need to need to progress further. It is all a matter of being honest with yourself.

With all due respect, knowing "in your own mind" might be dangerous.