Not sure what to do....
Thread poster: Klaus Dorn (X)
Klaus Dorn (X)
Klaus Dorn (X)
Local time: 09:48
German to English
+ ...
Apr 19, 2003

OK, so far I\'ve only had relatively small translation jobs not exceeding 20.000 words. So, I have no experience with really \"big stuff\".

Recently, a job was posted on ProZ, which asked for the translation of 7 books from English into German. The rate offered for this work was EUR 0.01 per source word. Some collegues on here commented in some forum postings about the mediocre price and questioned the subject, which is basically 1 or 2 Russian scientists trying to prove, th
... See more
OK, so far I\'ve only had relatively small translation jobs not exceeding 20.000 words. So, I have no experience with really \"big stuff\".

Recently, a job was posted on ProZ, which asked for the translation of 7 books from English into German. The rate offered for this work was EUR 0.01 per source word. Some collegues on here commented in some forum postings about the mediocre price and questioned the subject, which is basically 1 or 2 Russian scientists trying to prove, that everything that was written prior to the 14th century has in fact been written much, much later and all of mankind has been \"had\"....

I wasn\'t too concerned with the subject or the opinions voiced therein, I decided to go for it, because the time given for the entire project was 18 months and upon my questioning, the poster replied, that a 10% pre-payment as well as regular payments (2-weekly) would be part of the deal. I live in Turkey, so EUR 20.000 for 1 1/2 years would actually do nicely, even bearing in mind, that I\'d have to translate appprox. 3-4000 words a day, every day for 18 months.