Thread poster: Joanna Wachowiak-Finlaison
Joanna Wachowiak-Finlaison
United States
Local time: 18:11
English to Polish
+ ...
Jun 6, 2008

I'm a complete rookie when it comes to working as a freelancer in the US. I need to cut some invoices - some for companies within US and one for a company in Europe. Now, my question is - do I need to add a tax? At least for the US invoices? If so, how much?
Any help will be appreciated

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:11
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
No tax Jun 6, 2008

No tax is added, there are no formalities at all for the invoice itself except that the company being invoiced can ask you for your social security number and they do not have to pay until you supply it.

You do of course have a social security number, right?

United States
English to Polish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Easy then Jun 6, 2008

Yup, I 'm happily socially secured

Luisa Ramos, CT
Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:11
English to Spanish
Gross up for taxes Jun 6, 2008

Although you do not add tax to the invoice, make sure you take your tax responsibility into consideration when establishing your rates. As a freelancer or independent contractor, you must file your tax return at the end of the year, and either get a reimbursement based on your losses or pay your share of taxes if your business was profitable.

Daina Jauntirans
Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Sole proprietor = quarterly Jun 6, 2008

In addition to what Luisa said, if you are a sole proprietor, you should be paying your taxes quarterly.

See http://www.allbusiness.com/business-planning/business-structures-sole-proprietorships/1028-1.html

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:11
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Taxes Jun 6, 2008