questions about paypal and moneybookers
Thread poster: norma lowery
norma lowery  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 29, 2008

i am new at this and i need some advice. i read some forum postings about paypal vs moneybookers and it seems to be a matter of opinion but my question is...what kind of account do i open? a business one? i went to the different web-sites in order to found out what the fees where but i am still confused. i am a words person not a numbers person. as i understand it there are fees for exchanging foreign currency. what other fees are involved? i don't need amounts just what can i be charge for? please help. i have some new clients and i am very confused about this.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ivana Friis Wilson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:37
Member (2008)
English to Danish
+ ...
Premium account for Paypal Jun 29, 2008

With Paypal you need a Premium account if you expect to receive more than 5 or so payments.

Make sure that you don't receive large payments via Paypal - then it's expensive to draw money out of the account. Alternatively, you can use the money to pay with (instead of VISA or similar, lots of places accept it) and avoid the charges.

I have both, and as I understand it Moneybookers is the cheaper. I don't use my Moneybookers account much due to clients preferecne (Paypal).

Elizabeth Ardans  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 05:37
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Paypal Jun 29, 2008

You can receive a lot more than 5 payments (I don't know if there is a limit). The only limitation of the Personal account (which is basically free) is that you can receive only 5 payments with credit or debit card. You can receive payments directly from the sender's Paypal balance or e-check. If you have an account in the US, withdrawal is free to.
With a Personal account you cand send and receive for free.