Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Time frame for customer complaint?
Thread poster: Mary Watson

Mary Watson  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:49
German to English
+ ...
Jul 9, 2008

An agency I have been working for steadily for the past 5 years just contacted me to tell me a translation I completed for them had been rejected by the customer. I was pretty upset by this, of course, but then confused as I had a very dim memory of this particular translation. I looked through my email files, and it turns out I sent the completed translation to the agency at the beginning of May, over 2 months ago!

I don't know what to make of this - in the past, when there has been a question by the client, I've always received it within 2-3 days of the delivery.

Has anyone else had this experience? If so, how did you handle it? Is there any sort of standard time period when a client can make a complaint?

I wrote back to the agency with similar questions, and am waiting to hear back. I also wrote them asking about the proofreading that was done on this job. This agency is always very meticulous (which I'm glad of ) and will return jobs for the most minor issues.

This is adding to my confusion, as the email from the agency asked me when I could "rework" the translation. It was 20,000 words long. The only comment that was made was that the customer said I used the wrong technical terms. No examples. It was an operating manual for a utility company. I wrote back asking for the customer to provide more detail and in the best case scenario, a glossary, as they apparently had their own in-house vocabulary they wanted to be used. So, even in the rework, without knowledge of the specific terms they want, I could just use new "incorrect" terminology.

I'd appreciate feedback on how I handled this and any further suggestions on whether I should do anything else.

Direct link Reply with quote

Boris Sigalov
Local time: 09:49
English to Russian
Yes, time frame for customer complaints Jul 9, 2008