Mobile menu

Establishing an association for discussing, steering and voicing best practices for contract terms
Thread poster: zooloo
Local time: 09:27
English to German
+ ...
Oct 24, 2008

Hello everybody,

I am a relatively new casual translator, working on a freelance basis, and have so far already made quite some unfavourable experiences concerning payment and contract terms.

I was wondering whether there is an interest in the community to bundle the knowledge derived from those past issues into a commonly known block of recommendations, that translators and agencies ideally could be convinced to honour during their negotiations and work. These recommendations could be gathered and published on a dedicated web site of some virtual association (of which there are many already), for everybody to contribute.

I am thinking here of recommendations for contents of contract terms, and further some for best practices concerning work flow and technical standards.

I had recently for example the case that the agency was not able to correctly count the words to be translated in the document. Follows: Is there a word counting standard, and a respective tool for it for anybody to use objectively? (Admittedly some things can be quite ridiculous but experience shows that it is necessary.)

I would be very interested to hear the general opinion on this from the "market". There are a lot of associations but the actual working conditions seem not to be touched too much by their working (as far as my little translator history makes me believe). Or are there maybe associations that are especially occupied with these administrative problems?