Should I feel uncomfortable about this?
Thread poster: Sara Senft

Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:02
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 4, 2008

I have sent emails back and forth to a contact person about phone interpreting. I just got a response saying that he found my resume very scanty. Now he is asking several questions, such as the agencies for which I've worked.

I don't feel comfortable disclosing that information. Wouldn't it violate a Non-Disclosure Agreement?

Admittedly, he was right in some ways. I didn't say exactly what kind of medical interpreting experience I have. In addition, I don't think I made it clear on my CV that I am a freelancer.

Time to revise my CV a little bit.

Direct link Reply with quote

Lutz Molderings  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 06:02
Member (2007)
German to English
+ ...
... Dec 4, 2008

to be honest I wouldn't give it a second thought.
These non-disclosure agreements are a waste of time for all involved.

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Have you signed NDAs with any agency? Dec 5, 2008

Then, depending on how those NDAs are worded, it may not be possible even to cite the agencies concerned. (The content of any work done with them goes without saying).

To work your way around this, you might contact two or more agencies/outsourcers for whom you work and with whom you feel comfortable enough to give you references or respond for you. There's nothing strange about this.

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Checking references Dec 5, 2008