How good or bad is that quote?
Thread poster: Mahmoud Rayyan

Mahmoud Rayyan  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 01:25
English to Arabic
Dec 10, 2008

Peace be upon you all,

I just would like to ask your assesment of the following bid that I recently offered, as I am not experienced in this issue so I woud like your honest opinion and any hints:

Dear Mr XXX,
I am Rayyan Eng Ara senior translator/Localizer, I have more than 6 years in the translation/Localization field, My clients are xxx, xxx, xxx, xxxx, and xxx,
I can deliver you the best quality expected as I intend to establish a long term business relationship with you.
My quote is:
0.09 Euro per word (Translation, Editing, Proofreading)
No matter the tool you use I can master it
I have experience using
SDL trados, Logoport, Idiom worldserver, flexytrans Trados workbench
B.R

Anothe question is how can I politely address a woman I don't know whether she is married or not?

I use the title Ms is this right or wrong?

Thanks in advance

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-12-10 14:30 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Laurie Price  Identity Verified
Mexico
Spanish to English
+ ...
Ms. is fine Dec 10, 2008

for all women, married or not.

As for the other question, I really couldn't say.

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:25
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Answers Dec 10, 2008

Hi Mahmoud and Salam aley koum.

"My quote is: 0.09 Euro per word (Translation, Editing, Proofreading)"....how can I politely address a woman I don't know whether she is married or not

Mahmoud, in my opinion 0.09 is the maximum anyone could expect, in most language pairs - and that would only be after the translator has proved they are very expert.

Whether a woman is married or not is just as important/unimportant as to whether a man is married or not. I always use "Ms.".

I hope that helps !

Penelope Ausejo  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not true about the rate... Dec 10, 2008