Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Thinking of doing Machine Translation post-editing: any advice?
Thread poster: Laura Gentili

Laura Gentili  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 15:35
Partial member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 18, 2002

I was contacted by a translation company with an offer for machine translation post-editing of medical texts. I am supposed to edit the MT texts at 2 levels: brief editing (rate:$.03/word) and full editing (rate: $.06/word).

I have no experience in this field so I would like to know what you think. Is it worthwhile? Are the MT texts too poor to be edited? Are the rates offered standard rates for this kind of job?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Be extremely careful... Feb 18, 2002

...is what I would advise. I have no experience whatsoever in the medical field, but I\'ve done quite a bit of work in finance (which, from a translator\'s point of view, is probably comparable in terms of technicality and complexity).

I gave up on machine translation pretty quickly, in view of the dismal results I was getting - it probably saved a maximum of 20% (if at all), and with some texts the workload was identical, if not higher. Even if you allow for technological progress (my hands-on experience with MT was more than five years ago...), I\'d be amazed if anything beyond 30-40% accuracy was achievable. Being on the conservative side, that means that you would have to be prepared to do the translation for $0.085 per word (0.06 divided by 70%).

I wouldn\'t even consider doing \"brief editing\" on MT...

ttagir  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:35
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...
Sometimes it is even harder than simple translation Feb 18, 2002

Hi!