Mobile menu

Who has experience with AKAD School ?
Thread poster: xxxmirena
xxxmirena
Local time: 15:41
Mar 27, 2002

I want to study by correspondence course. The AKAD School in Stuttgart is offering a possibility to get an acces to the certificate for agreed translators.

>

> Is there anybody who\'s got any experience with this school ? I would be happy to get more informations about this school.

>

> Thank you !

>

> Mirena

Direct link Reply with quote

Vauwe
English to German
+ ...
AKAD school Mar 27, 2002

I started studying there, but I can tell you it\'s not worth it. The lessons are very oldfashioned (not at all computerized) and what you are to learn has nothing to do with the daily xlating job, i.e. you have to do several psychology classes treating good old Freund and Jung. AKAD focusses very much on economic texts.

There was no way to send your work by email.

You do not learn anything about Literature, eTranslation (Trados etc.), translating websites, browsing databases and so on. They thing you still do you work with paper and pencil.

The only good thing about it is that you get a \'real\' diploma

Irene Fried  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
AKAD Stuttgart Mar 27, 2002

Dear Mirena,

I am also taking this course currently at the AKAD, and it is quite nice.

You have several topics which they cover, one big chunk is the German/English grammar.

Then you cover a few other fields as well.

Every month you get something like 4-6 booklets, which you have to work through.

(e.g. 1x Wirtschaftsenglisch, 1x Deutsch, 1x Englisch, 1x Landeskunde usw).

You can do the \"homework\" at your own speed and then send it in for the marking. That can take up to 4 weeks.

When I started the course, it still was on a seminar-basis (which will be kept that way for current students), but I think they plan to change it into a modular system, whatever that means.