Thread poster: avsie (X)
avsie (X)
avsie (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:04
English to French
+ ...
Nov 5, 2004

Hello all,

I'm a very "débutante" in the world of freelancing, and I'm discovering the mazes of income taxation...

Short presentation: I'm Canadian in origin, I still have an active bank account in my hometown, which I use for some money transfers and to finish paying up my debts (grrr)... I'm a resident of the Netherlands and I have a permanent in-house position there.

So!

To e
... See more
Hello all,

I'm a very "débutante" in the world of freelancing, and I'm discovering the mazes of income taxation...

Short presentation: I'm Canadian in origin, I still have an active bank account in my hometown, which I use for some money transfers and to finish paying up my debts (grrr)... I'm a resident of the Netherlands and I have a permanent in-house position there.

So!

To earn extra euros/dollars, I've accepted a few translation jobs here and there. One agency being based in Spain, and the other in Canada.

Most of my "extra" revenus originates from the Canadian agency, and I feel the need to declare it (although it would be much nicer to just keep it all for me )

But to who must I declare it? Canada? Netherlands? There is a income tax convention between Canada and the Netherlands, where revenues made in one country aren't taxable by the other. But what about the case of freelancing?

I'm considered being a non-resident of Canada, and since I earned no "canadian" revenues for the last 3 years, I haven't filled any tax declaration forms these last 3 years.

Any ideas what I should do?

I will most like call the International income tax office of the Canadian government to see what I should do, but it might have happened to someone...
Collapse

PRen (X)
PRen (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:04
French to English
+ ...
Some suggestions Nov 5, 2004

Hi Marie-Claude,

First, I would check out the CCRA website for information on non-residents at: