Thread poster: Michael Newton
Michael Newton
Michael Newton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:47
Japanese to English
+ ...
Aug 16, 2014

I have been asked by several translation agencies to provide proof of academic credentials: scannable diploma and the like as a condition of working with them. Wouldn't it be easier to refer them to the credentials department of the university I graduated from? It seems that the agency could remove my name from the diploma, put some one else's name them and then sell it. Am I being too suspicious? Would appreciate feedback from other translators.
Thank you!
Michael Newton
Bost
... See more
I have been asked by several translation agencies to provide proof of academic credentials: scannable diploma and the like as a condition of working with them. Wouldn't it be easier to refer them to the credentials department of the university I graduated from? It seems that the agency could remove my name from the diploma, put some one else's name them and then sell it. Am I being too suspicious? Would appreciate feedback from other translators.
Thank you!
Michael Newton
Boston USA
Collapse

finnword1
finnword1
United States
English to Finnish
+ ...
How about sending a photo instead? Aug 17, 2014

Put the document under a glass and take a photo with enough glare to make it more difficult to photoshop.

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
Send them a copy Aug 17, 2014

It's very easy to fabricate a diploma even without an original. The registrars at universities are in no hurry to verify someone's credentials. Some in the US even charge a fee. It's really easier to create a pdf containing scans of your diplomas and send them to requesting parties.

Clarisa Moraña
Clarisa Moraña  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:47
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
+ ...
What about if you were, let's say, engineer? Aug 17, 2014

Hi, Michael