Unpaid internship: experience building opportunity or simply taking advantage?
Thread poster: Fanny Gendrau
Fanny Gendrau
Fanny Gendrau
Ireland
Local time: 13:03
English to French
+ ...
Sep 11, 2014

Hi,

I've been a professional translator (en/fr) for 3 years now and I'm looking for interpreting experience.

As I was browsing the web for such opportunities, I found an offer for unpaid translation/interpretation internships on Trovit and responded to the offer right away.

Much to my surprise, I was offered an interview within the next 5 minutes! (Too good to be true?)
In his email, Mr T. W. fr
... See more
Hi,

I've been a professional translator (en/fr) for 3 years now and I'm looking for interpreting experience.

As I was browsing the web for such opportunities, I found an offer for unpaid translation/interpretation internships on Trovit and responded to the offer right away.

Much to my surprise, I was offered an interview within the next 5 minutes! (Too good to be true?)
In his email, Mr T. W. from *kept anonymous as per Proz.com forum rules* asked me to meet him in person, the next day, in Dublin city centre (in Ireland, where I'm based).

Before I responded, I searched Google...

Well, while I was under the impression that Mr T. W. offered unpaid internships to prospective candidates because he ran a non-profit organisation (I'm sure you've guessed what follows by now), it appears that the aforementioned experience opportunities serve his own purpose: charging his clients with very low rates.
While I understand that low rates are a necessity in order to establish one's business and build a client database, I strongly disagree with making a profit at the expense of other professionals' skills and time.

Please comment and share if you have dealt with this, or similar organisations: I would be interested to read your reactions.

Have a good day,

Fanny.

[Edited at 2014-09-11 12:25 GMT]

[Edited at 2014-09-12 07:53 GMT]
Collapse