Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5] >
Agencies applying for large contracts - waste of time?
Thread poster: Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:04
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 16, 2016

I was contacted today by an agency wanting to bid on a large government contract. I have never worked with this agency before. They claimed that in order to bid, they had to submit documentation from translators with at least a three-year university degree and four years of experience.

I wrote back that I have a four-year degree in the language and 22 years of experience.

She immediately sent me the government form to complete and asked for a copy of my university diplo
... See more
I was contacted today by an agency wanting to bid on a large government contract. I have never worked with this agency before. They claimed that in order to bid, they had to submit documentation from translators with at least a three-year university degree and four years of experience.

I wrote back that I have a four-year degree in the language and 22 years of experience.

She immediately sent me the government form to complete and asked for a copy of my university diploma (and that I please sign it). She also asked me to "please hurry" because they are running late on submitting the documentation.

I wrote back that I have never worked with the agency before and - that they don't even know what my rate is (not a question asked on the long form either).

Do you think this is just a scam to use my information and then they will never use my services if and when they get the project?

I could understand if this were an agency I have worked with before, but this is the first time they have contacted me.

[Edited at 2016-02-16 16:26 GMT]

[Edited at 2016-02-16 20:12 GMT]
Collapse

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
English to French
+ ...
Bingo Feb 16, 2016

You're getting wiser by the minute.