https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/30771-how_many_translation_projects_you_get_every_year_from_proz.html

How many translation projects you get every year from Proz?
Thread poster: lawrance Shaw
lawrance Shaw
lawrance Shaw
Local time: 16:15
English to Chinese
+ ...
Mar 26, 2005

Hi

I am a newbie of using Proz to find translation jobs. I wonder how many translation projects you can get every year from Proz.

To my knowledge, there are too few jobs for a full-time freelance translator in Proz, at least for my language pair. Apart from Proz, are there any other ways that I can find translation job?

Rgds
Lawrance

Beth Dennison
Beth Dennison  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:15
Chinese to English
+ ...
Market yourself... Mar 26, 2005

lawrance Shaw wrote:

Hi

I am a newbie of using Proz to find translation jobs. I wonder how many translation projects you can get every year from Proz.

To my knowledge, there are too few jobs for a full-time freelance translator in Proz, at least for my language pair. Apart from Proz, are there any other ways that I can find translation job?

Rgds
Lawrance

Lawrance,

Whilst you can get work through Proz, you will not be able to rely on this for all of your income.

I have one regular client I gained through Proz, and have maybe had three or four other small jobs through Proz in the past year. The vast majority of my work comes from agencies I sent my details to. I started out as a freelancer around 18 months ago. To start with, things moved slowly, but after around 5 or 6 months I found that I had more than enough work, and have even had to outsource on occasions.

I suggest that you send your details to as many agencies as possible, and also advertise in local telephone directories etc. You may also wish to consider your own website, if you have not got one already.

Good luck!

Beth

Textklick
Textklick  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:15
German to English
+ ...
In memoriam
I don't know, but... Mar 26, 2005