Agency refusing to pay....
Thread poster: AnnGallagher
AnnGallagher
AnnGallagher
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Mar 20, 2017

Good evening! I am dealing with an unfortunate situation with an agency I have been working consistently with for 3 years, and with whom I have had a good relationship. At the start of January, I was assigned the translation of a website into English of a private bilingual (English-Spanish) school. No links, glossaries or instructions were provided. The document itself was full of tags (as it was already set up to be uploaded), which made it a bit trickier in terms of sentence restructuring to s... See more
Good evening! I am dealing with an unfortunate situation with an agency I have been working consistently with for 3 years, and with whom I have had a good relationship. At the start of January, I was assigned the translation of a website into English of a private bilingual (English-Spanish) school. No links, glossaries or instructions were provided. The document itself was full of tags (as it was already set up to be uploaded), which made it a bit trickier in terms of sentence restructuring to sound natural (as the tags represented fonts, etc) but I got around it. About a week following delivery, the agency rang to say that they were not happy with some of the translation. I rang the manager straight away, asked for further information, and when he sent me some of the provisional changes, they were the standard "Spanglish" corrections often made by an end client. I wrote up my reasons for why they were not suitable in the nicest manner possible and the agency told me that he believed the issue was resolved.

However, about 3 weeks later, the end clients said that they did not like the style, sending some samples of their preferred translation of several paragraphs. I looked them over, wrote up another explanation of how both versions were valid (their version actually had some errors, which I also corrected).