Thread poster: Graciela Carlyle

Graciela Carlyle  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:30
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 4, 2005

Hi everyone,

I've been asked to provide a quotation for analysing names of products for suitability in the target country.
I've done this before on a single name basis (per hour), not for a set of names, so I'm not sure how to calculate the time it might take.
I mean, if you have 7 names you could spend 5 minutes with one and an hour with another, or 15 minutes with all or one hour each!!

Has anyone got any idea of what would be a fair way of quoting for this?

Thanks!!
Grace.

Direct link Reply with quote

PAS  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:30
English to Polish
+ ...
Lump sum? May 4, 2005

I have no experience in this particular type of work, but I would consider a lump sum contract.

Have a look at the list and estimate how long it will take you to do it, then quote a price satisfactory to all.

Sometimes I find that sticking religiously to one's rates gives strange results - outrageously expensive or dirt cheap.

HTH
Pawel Skalinski

Giuliana Criscuolo-Bruce
English to Italian
+ ...
Client's budget May 4, 2005

I think in the end it will depend on the client's budget. I tend to ask how many hours I am allowed to spend on the job, and then price accordingly, leaving myself a little margin in case I go over the allocated time. You will find that agencies/clients already have a good idea of how much they want to spend... Usually it works out, and it is quite fun to do.

United Kingdom
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks May 4, 2005

Thanks for your input.
I completely agree with both.

First thing is that I can't know how long it will take until I see it, so that's what I told them.
I gave an estimate of my hourly rate for this type of job and a rough average calculation of how long it might take, with the proviso that I NEED to see the material before any confirmation.