Accepting a task by phone / email
Thread poster: Anne Brackenborough (X)
Anne Brackenborough (X)
Anne Brackenborough (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:05
German to English
Jul 4, 2005

I've been working part-time and taking on new tasks by email and phone, very informally, but now I've qualified as a translator, I'm starting to get new, bigger clients that I don't know so well.

Now it's happened to me that a client has said "oh actually, we made a mistake and didn't really want that translated" - there is a question mark hanging over a €1000 payment! - and all I have are the emails we exchanged, where they don't specifically ask for a translation, as they did o
... See more
I've been working part-time and taking on new tasks by email and phone, very informally, but now I've qualified as a translator, I'm starting to get new, bigger clients that I don't know so well.

Now it's happened to me that a client has said "oh actually, we made a mistake and didn't really want that translated" - there is a question mark hanging over a €1000 payment! - and all I have are the emails we exchanged, where they don't specifically ask for a translation, as they did on the phone. I have no head for business whatsoever but even I can see that I need a bit more proof than that in future. I was wondering how other people accept new tasks - do you make a contract each time you need a translation, even with the same company; what's on the contract, is it enough to send it by email or does it need to be on paper? Do you check up on the company to make sure the person who phoned/emailed you actually works for them? (Or is that paranoid?) To what extent is this failsafe? Is there always a risk?
Collapse

avsie (X)
avsie (X)  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
When I get a phone call... Jul 4, 2005