Mobile menu

Your suggestions on rates for transcripton/translation Eng/Spa with no text support
Thread poster: Marisa Condurso de Nohara

Marisa Condurso de Nohara  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 19:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 30, 2005

I'm a translator specialized in some fields of medicine. My daily task deals with translating from English into LA Spanish on a continuous basis, mainly for a good and always welcome client. Now, I have been contacted to translate into my mother tongue a series of slide shows accompanied by the speakers' voices in "off" mode. The slides themselves will not be translated. It is every speech which needs: listening to the English speech, typing in English and finally translating into Spanish. I know that some colleagues devoted to movies charge by the running minute, but they are supported by the script of the movie being sent by their customers. This is not the case. I have to resort to my ear-training, typing and then translating. Being a mostly-medical-translator I am not used to deal with these jobs. Could you give me at least a hint on how to charge for the whole task? Per minute running, too? How much? Transcription and translation included in a single rate? I will really appreciate your help.

Direct link Reply with quote

Becky Katz  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 16:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Per hour for the transcription, your regular rate for translation Nov 30, 2005

Nohara

I would charge them per hour to transcribe this text, since it might take you a while to do it (you don't know if the person's accent will be hard to understand, if they'll be using complicated words, etc.). Then you can charge them your regular per word translation rates for the actual English>Spanish translation.

suerte!
Becky

Argentina
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
And what about that gold standard "per minute running"? Nov 30, 2005