How much to charge an agency for testing potential translators?
Thread poster: Gerardo Bensi
Gerardo Bensi
Gerardo Bensi  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:07
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 17, 2006

I'm an Argentine freelance translator. One of the Argentine agencies I work for asked me to assess a new potential translator. I gave the applicant two texts of between 312 / 340 words, one to translate into English and another one into Spanish. Both texts were technical (IT - Oil & Gas). I have not seen the translations yet; the applicant is due to e-mail them in two days.

The agency wants to know how much I will charge them for this assessment service. Do you have any idea of wha
... See more
I'm an Argentine freelance translator. One of the Argentine agencies I work for asked me to assess a new potential translator. I gave the applicant two texts of between 312 / 340 words, one to translate into English and another one into Spanish. Both texts were technical (IT - Oil & Gas). I have not seen the translations yet; the applicant is due to e-mail them in two days.

The agency wants to know how much I will charge them for this assessment service. Do you have any idea of what the standard rates for this are? I would appreciate any comments.

Thank you very much.
Gerardo
Collapse

Marie-Hélène Hayles
Marie-Hélène Hayles  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:07
Italian to English
+ ...
Do they want you to revise the translations? Feb 17, 2006

I asssume you have a good relationship with the agency: I did the same thing recently for one of my clients, and just charged them for the revision.

If they're not asking you to revise the translation, I'd charge them depending on how long it takes you to assess it - or if it's a very good client, I wouldn't charge them anything at all.

Gerardo Bensi
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Feb 17, 2006

Mary-Helene:
Thanks for your advice; yes, I'm supposed to revise the translations; I had thought of chargin per hour.