Power of Attorney Translation
Thread poster: Stacey Wilcox
Stacey Wilcox
Local time: 14:58
Spanish to English
Mar 13, 2006

Hi everyone

I am hoping someone can help me.
I started working freelance about 5 months ago and have just had an enquiry from a direct client about translating his fathers power of attorney regarding his property in Spain. It is 2 pages long, though as I realize I have little experience in this field, I am over the moon about finally having some work in. As the clients lives locally, he is delivering the copy to me later on today, so I haven't seen it yet.
How does someone go about translating this? Do I need to get it certified or will a signed copy from myself be sufficient?
Really, what I'm saying is that any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

(a rather apprehensive) Stacey

Direct link Reply with quote

Stephen Rifkind  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:58
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
patience Mar 13, 2006

Dear Stacey:

One matter of a time: Does the client need it certified or stamped in any manner? Most power of attorney I have done are unofficial. Ask. If certified, the client must find a notory.

Second, each and every power of attorney is different. However, they do share certain expressions. Find a power of attorney form on the internet in the target language, maybe even two or three different ones. As you translate it, look for "pretranslated" standard formulas to make your life easier.

Third, make a record of where this translation is so the next one will much easier.

Good luck,

Stephen Rifkind
Hebrew/Russian/French to English

Local time: 10:58
Spanish to English
+ ...
certification etc. Mar 13, 2006