customer received work 2 months ago, and now he doesn't respond about payment
Thread poster: MaryamSlayhi
MaryamSlayhi
Lebanon
Local time: 14:03
English to Russian
+ ...
May 17, 2006

I work as a freelance translator in the direction ENG-RUS.
What should I do to get the payment from a customer - an agency in Ireland, for the work sent in the middle of March this year, 30 000 words. In our correspondence the company manager provided me with all ensurances for payment. After I sent the work he kept silence, although I asked him to make his own evaluation of the total price - as the document contained a number of repetitions, and he had told me before that they don't pay for those, so I supposed it must be the customer who should make the resulting calculations. After waiting for about a week, I reminded him about payment. He replied by: please, send your invoice. It was the first time for me to send invoices, as I had used to get payment via Western Union or cash, or money transfer but without preliminary invoices. I asked him to give me his resulting price, to put it into the invoice. He didn't answer. After that I had to interrupt this case, as I had to perform several trips outside my residential place. Now I am back and sent to him the invoice with my own calculations - as he didn't make his and didn't reply as well. I asked him to inform me about the expected time of the payment (the bank is in another country, and the user of the account is my relative, so I must inform him about the expected money transfer ) and also if he needs an original paper of the invoice. I didn't get any reply.
I have not come across such situations before, all my customers used to pay either promptly or they kept on corresponding untill the time of actual payment - informing me about a delay or some difficulties, etc. I mean they used keeping in touch, untill sending money and payment confirmation.