Complaint about quality of translation
Thread poster: lidiasoliveira

lidiasoliveira  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:54
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 22, 2006

Hello!

I'm a newbie as you usually say and my english is poor, but I need help from those who work in this complicated business. For the first time in more than 3 years of working as a freelancer translator, I have received a complaint about the quality of my translation. I don't know what to do in this siuation. An agency post the job I did the job in 24 houres and today I have received an email saying the client was not happy with the quality. What is strange is tat the job was done a month ago and they should pay me today. Why waiting so long to tell me that the client didn't like the translation?

Thank you for you help!

Direct link Reply with quote

Armorel Young  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
German to English
Responsibility for quality control lies with the agency May 22, 2006

My immediate thought on reading your story is that this is really the agency's problem. They commissioned the translation from you and they should have checked that it was of satisfactory quality before passing it on to the client. Therefore in my view responsibility for sorting out any complaints from the client lies with the agency - after all, that's why we work with agencies and not directly with the client.

However, it is impossible for you to know what to think without knowing what the specific complaints are. Apart from telling the agency that it is their job to pay you anyway (especially since such a long period has elapsed) I would be asking them to get a precise list of complaints from the client and pass it on to you. It may turn out that the client wanted particular terminology to be used but failed to tell you about it or provide a glossary - but unless you know what the complaints are you can't put forward your side of the case.