Electronic signatures - how do they work?
Thread poster: ViktoriaG

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 08:49
English to French
+ ...
Jun 1, 2006

Dear colleagues,

I would like to know how electronic signatures work in different parts of the world.

Things I'd like to know:
What is a legally acceptable signature (e-mail, PDF, etc.)?
What do you do when you have a PDF contract that you would like to get signed, but the client doesn't have a scanner to scan the signed copy back into an e-mail?
Is simply replying to a plain text e-mail contract legally considered valid?

All comments on this are welcome, from all parts of the world. Legal opinions are, of course, more than welcome.

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 14:49
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Some answers... Jun 2, 2006

Viktoria Gimbe wrote:
What is a legally acceptable signature (e-mail, PDF, etc.)?

I'm not a lawyer.

Officially, in South Africa, these things are governed by the Electronic Communications and Transactions Act [No. 25 of 2002], at: http://www.info.gov.za/gazette/acts/2002/a25-02.pdf .

Unfortunately for South Africans, the Act stipulates that an electronic signature is only legally binding if the signature service provider is accredited by the South African digital encryption accreditation authority, which AFAIK isn't in operation yet.

What do you do when you have a PDF contract that you would like to get signed, but the client doesn't have a scanner to scan the signed copy back into an e-mail? Is simply replying to a plain text e-mail contract legally considered valid?