https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/53490-insurance_to_take_out_or_not_to_take_out.html

Insurance, to take out or not to take out?
Thread poster: Anne Key
Anne Key
Anne Key
Local time: 15:23
Dutch to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Aug 17, 2006

Hello everyone,

This is my first ever post on this forum - I hope I've selected the right forum!

My query relates to (professional indemnity) insurance.

I have been working as a freelance translator for almost 8 years and to date have had no problems (touch wood).

However, I was recently advised to take out insurance "just in case" (by, surprise, surprise, an insurance company!)

Have any of you taken out insurance and, if so, woul
... See more
Hello everyone,

This is my first ever post on this forum - I hope I've selected the right forum!

My query relates to (professional indemnity) insurance.

I have been working as a freelance translator for almost 8 years and to date have had no problems (touch wood).

However, I was recently advised to take out insurance "just in case" (by, surprise, surprise, an insurance company!)

Have any of you taken out insurance and, if so, would you recommend it?

I'm based in the UK - are there any good insurance companies here that are willing to take on freelance translators?

All suggestions / replies welcome!

Many thanks,

Anne
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:23
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Comments Aug 17, 2006

There have been quite a few comments on the subject of liability insurance here, but in one of the last ones I saw it was noted that no one has yet verified any case where a translator has ever been held liable for his/her work.

Certainly I am not aware of any.

You might ask the insurance company if they have ever had any such claims. Probably they are just trying to sell you a bill of goods.

Debora Villa
Debora Villa
United Kingdom
English to Italian
+ ...
I took one out Aug 17, 2006

Hi there,