Off topic: Copyright
Thread poster: John Farebrother
John Farebrother
John Farebrother  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Oct 28, 2006

A contract I am translating contains an extract from an act. On the government website there is a translation of the act into English. Is it legal to use this translation (there is no reference to copyright in it)? Does the final translation ahve to contain an acknowledgement? Or is it just the same as quoting the act in the original language?

Tim Drayton
Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 14:22
Turkish to English
+ ...
Just use it Oct 29, 2006

I am no legal expert, but my opininion is that an official translation of a peice of legislation on a government website is in the public domain and is there for anyone to use as they wish. If I were you, I would copy the relevant section, paste it into my translation and move on without worrying. I don't see any need for an acknowledgement. Of course, this is with the proviso that you are satisfied with the standard of translation provided on the government website. Otherwise, you may wish to d... See more
I am no legal expert, but my opininion is that an official translation of a peice of legislation on a government website is in the public domain and is there for anyone to use as they wish. If I were you, I would copy the relevant section, paste it into my translation and move on without worrying. I don't see any need for an acknowledgement. Of course, this is with the proviso that you are satisfied with the standard of translation provided on the government website. Otherwise, you may wish to do a bit of editing.Collapse

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:22
Spanish to English
+ ...
Presume Oct 30, 2006

the government, as client of the other translator, holds the copyright, as publisher.