Mobile menu

need insight in regard to receiving payment
Thread poster: gracesunny

Local time: 20:29
English to Chinese
+ ...
Nov 7, 2006

Dear fellow freelancer working in U.S.,

I am new to this business. I have need your insight in regard to receiving payment from translation agency.

Frist, I wonder if there is any legal issue I should aware in regard to receiving payment from translation agency. i.e. tax law.
Second, what should I expect to receive once I accept an assignment? Should I receive a purchase order or should I issue a invoice to my customer? I would like to have some sort of written form of payment agrrement.
Third, when the payment term of 2 weeks after invoice, that date is used for the invoice date, the time the assignment is accepted or the date the final translation is delivered?

Your imput is highly appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ivo Lang  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:29
Member (2003)
English to German
Never without PO Nov 7, 2006

There is no rule that applies to each and every country with regard to POs and payment terms in general but there are some rules I would always apply. Firstly, I would never start any translation work without a PO, especially not with new agencies I work for. With agencies I know and who are trustworthy, I can, at times, do without such a formal PO. If you do not have a PO number/reference, you should at least insist on the project manager stating the scope and the agreed rate for the work to be carried out in an email, otherwise you don't have anything if it comes to disputes.
Secondly, the time after which you can expect to be paid: There again, this time frame differs greatly, some agencies pay after 2 weeks, others after one month (seems to be pretty much standard) and others again after 2 months (from date of invoice). These terms concering payment should be agreed before you start work.

Hope this was of some help to you.

Good luck.

peiling  Identity Verified