Thread poster: Philip Coucke
Philip Coucke  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:01
Member (2004)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 9, 2006

Hello friends,
As I'm working more and more for direct customers, I would like to work with an order form that this direct customer has to sign to confirm his order.
Since I am not an expert in these matters, I was wondering if someone can help me with a solid but uncomplicated order form. My fax number is 32.56.211.347. It would also help me a lot if you can advise me which clauses can help to saveguard our rights as a translator?
Many thanks in advance!

Direct link Reply with quote

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
I am about to design such a form Dec 9, 2006

Hi Philip,

I am about to design such a form, as I also would like a signature from any prospective end customer on a form that is faxed back to me in future. I also have a very clear idea of what type of clauses I would like them to sign. I will send you a copy once I have designed the form. It might take me till about the end of next week.

As a preview, I can tell you that the most important clauses are those concerning price, payment deadlines, overdue interest, reminder fees, etc. Quality is less of an issue with end customers, since many of the ones I have had are not in a position to know the quality of the translation. On this basis, I do not, in general, expect end customers (local individuals or very small businesses) to quibble about terminology, but rather about price.

Astrid

Philip Coucke  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
German to Dutch
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Legal but simple clauses on such a form Dec 9, 2006

Hi Astrid,

Thank you very much in advance Astrid.