Ara Mkrtchyan (X)
Ara Mkrtchyan (X)  Identity Verified
Armenia
Local time: 03:49
English to Armenian
+ ...
Dec 14, 2006

Dear colleagues,

I would appreciate your opinions on the following unpleasant situation: I was asked to do a financial translation without proof-reading, I took the job, did it within the deadline and sent it back to the client. Two days later I get the client's response stating in particular that their expert has 'corrected' my translation and attached are his comments. When I studied the comments, I could hardly refrain my frustration. Most of the comments were simply ridiculous,
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I would appreciate your opinions on the following unpleasant situation: I was asked to do a financial translation without proof-reading, I took the job, did it within the deadline and sent it back to the client. Two days later I get the client's response stating in particular that their expert has 'corrected' my translation and attached are his comments. When I studied the comments, I could hardly refrain my frustration. Most of the comments were simply ridiculous, inconsistent, lack of financial terminology and native-language thinking of the 'editor' were acutely felt thoughout the text. I do not claim to be the best, never, but financial translations are not new to me. I was greatly upset by this kind of ignorant remarks by a "professional-like" embodiment of ignorance, whose only concern, to the nest of my belief, was winning a client by fault-finding in their current translator's work. And that is another problem I see here: an outsourcer that does not speak the target language can easily be convinced of the "faults" of a translation, esp when you provide a lot of red lines, exclamation marks, stupid comments that seem so professional.