Mobile menu

Sample translation - Is this too long?
Thread poster: Nicole Martin

Nicole Martin
Local time: 20:38
German to English
Jan 22, 2007

I work as a full-time translator at a company, and my manager has interviewed a few candidates for another translation position. She has asked me to put together a sample translation for these candidates. I have a sample done, but I'm wondering if it would be considered too long or if it's a good size.

It's 365 words, but before you make a decision, let me give a little background information. There are two different types of materials to be translated: owner's manuals and repair manuals. As you can imagine, these have different types of text. Owner's manuals are less technical and more "conversational". Repair manuals are designed for professional technicians. They are technical and don't usually have a lot of introductions or explanations and they give concise instructions. Naturally, a translator has to be aware of the different writing styles and audiences and translate accordingly. So a sample needs to include both types of text.

I selected samples from each that represented a little bit of everything they have to offer: introductions, warnings, instructions. I think it's a good overview of what we cover here, and I would consider it to be fairly brief.