Carolin Haase  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:11
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
Feb 5, 2007

Hi all,

an agency wants to offer me jobs.

I sent my CV including recent projects, rates for translation, and three references i. e. contact details.

Now the agency would like me to:

a. confirm my rates for translation (no problem, but what percentage to add when convertig PDFs?) and interpreting.
I didn't state any rates for this since I'm not sure if it's by the hour or by the day? Plus, until now I've been paid by the day since I worked as a mixture of tour guide and liaision interpreter for an NGO. Any suggestions?

b. I included, as I mentioned above, three names and contacts of outsourcers. Now the agnecy requires "two professionbal references". What's that? Letters of recommendation?

Looking forward to some enlightenment!

Thank you,

Direct link Reply with quote

Els Spin  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:11
Dutch to English
+ ...
Watch out! Feb 5, 2007

Hi Carolin,

Just a warning: the other day, a discussion was going on on this forum about recommendation letters: these mean that you are revealing the names of your clients to a competitor.

So, be careful!

Kind regards,

P.S. If you want to look it up: the discussion took place, I believe, the day before yesterday.

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:11
English to French
+ ...
They already have three references - now they want two more... Feb 6, 2007

That's all I can see here.