Diana Kozenitzky Andrés
Diana Kozenitzky Andrés  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 11:06
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 22, 2007

Hello:
I'm an English / Spanish translator that have just been asked to do the proof reading of a contract. The client says it is a good translation but needs me to seal and sign it, for I'm a a registered translator. That is, someone, not registered, had done the translation for him, and now he wants me to "give it a look" and to seal it.
He says he's been in the States and knows the translation is ok, that he has payed for a translation to be done, and do not want to pay for anot
... See more
Hello:
I'm an English / Spanish translator that have just been asked to do the proof reading of a contract. The client says it is a good translation but needs me to seal and sign it, for I'm a a registered translator. That is, someone, not registered, had done the translation for him, and now he wants me to "give it a look" and to seal it.
He says he's been in the States and knows the translation is ok, that he has payed for a translation to be done, and do not want to pay for another. It's like proof-reading I guess. But I was told not to accept this kind of job offerings, because generally one has to do the translation.

Can you help me? What can I do?
How much should I charge a proof reading?
Collapse

Christine Biloré
Christine Biloré  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:06
English to French
+ ...
Not surprised... Feb 22, 2007

I've just been asked by a registered spanish-french translator to translate a document so she would then add her seal on it.

She's registered in France but isn't able to translate into French without making mistakes so she always outsources.

Worse, she said she would charge her client 0.05 (VAT included) meaning I had to charge less than that.

This just made me laugh...

Your case is a bit different. Maybe your client couldn't find a registered
... See more