Thread poster: Claire Loveridge

Claire Loveridge  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:37
French to English
+ ...
Jun 10, 2007

Hi All

I've been translating part time for about 12 months now and went full time freelance about 3 months ago.

It's going really well, I have a really nice client base who send me a variety of long and short term projects and I'm in an enviable position of having more than enough work to keep me going (often turning it away - which I hate not just because it's paid work but because I hate the idea of letting my clients down).

Anyway, so life is good - however, my husband and I have always planned to go travelling - he's not happy in his job, and ironically now that I'm freelancing we're able to really consider taking a year off together and seeing the big wide world, but obviously I'm slightly worried about putting my new found career (which I love) on hold for 12 months and starting again when I get back.

It took me about 6 months to get fully established the first time, and on the plus side I now have a pool of clients that I can contact on my return, who know and like the quality of my work and my committment, but I still have doubts. I don't really want to work while I'm travelling as I don't want to compromise the level of service I currently offer to my clients (ie being available 24/7 - those urgent little sentences that need doing toute de suite, etc.) which would undoubtedly suffer due to time differences and facilities. Also, the idea of going with my husband kinda means together

We're not going straight away, we're looking at doing it in about 18 months time, so I will have been translating for about 3 years by then.

I was just wondering if anyone had done anything like this, or was planning to and had any advice or comments.

Thanks in advance
Claire

[Edited at 2007-06-10 18:09]

Direct link Reply with quote

Lawyer-Linguist  Identity Verified
Portugal
Dutch to English
+ ...
Couple of points ... Jun 10, 2007