Bereavement and deadlines
Thread poster: Anne Key
Anne Key
Local time: 08:06
Dutch to English
+ ...
Aug 7, 2007

Hello all,

I'm a relative newcomer to discussion groups, so hope I've posted in the right forum.

I have a question concerning deadlines, and how crucial it is to stick to them.

I have been translating full-time for 10 years, and have always tried to meet my deadlines (maximum delay of 1-2 days).

I recently accepted a big translation (70,000 words), and was given less than a month to complete it.

I have managed to get over half of it done by working weekends / evenings (the subject matter is quite complicated).

Unfortunately I suffered a bereavement a few days ago (of a close relative), and since then have been unable to concentrate fully on my work.

At the moment, I would like to put my family / myself first. Furthermore, I would love to renegotiate the original deadline, but am extremely worried that I may lose future business if I do so or, worse still, be sued (after all, "business is business").

I have not signed a contract, but the client and I did agree on a deadline in writing (email).

To make matters worse, my client is currently on holiday and isn't responding to emails / phone calls.

I am tentatively thinking of emailing my client the work I have done so far, and then renogiating a new deadline for the work outstanding.

Do any of you have any experience of doing this, or do you have any thoughts / suggestions / comments?

Any help / advice you can give would be warmly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Anne (not firing on all four cylinders)

[Edited at 2007-08-07 07:04]

[Edited at 2007-08-07 07:07]

Direct link Reply with quote

Chinmayi Sripada
Local time: 12:36
English to German
+ ...
Reply to: Anne Key Aug 7, 2007

Ms Key,

First off my condolences to your family.

I have worked with translators who have faced such problems. I have always been willing to renegotiate the deadlines, of course, after talking to the client as well.