https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/83807-advice_on_working_in_spain.html

Advice on working in Spain
Thread poster: Strastran (X)
Strastran (X)
Strastran (X)
France
Local time: 14:20
French to English
+ ...
Sep 13, 2007

Hello all

I'm a freelance translator/interpreter based in the UK, and my partner is about to accept a place on a course at the University of Barcelona. As I do most of my work over the internet, logistically it won't be a problem if we move (though I would lose my interpreting side given that I do French to English).

I am, however, ignorant of current practices in Spain regarding (self-)employment. I've read on another thread about the rules for paying tax, namely that
... See more
Hello all

I'm a freelance translator/interpreter based in the UK, and my partner is about to accept a place on a course at the University of Barcelona. As I do most of my work over the internet, logistically it won't be a problem if we move (though I would lose my interpreting side given that I do French to English).

I am, however, ignorant of current practices in Spain regarding (self-)employment. I've read on another thread about the rules for paying tax, namely that you are deemed to be resident (and thus a taxpayer) if you spend 183 days in an EU country.

I don't own any property in the UK (our flat is privately rented) so would perhaps have to register my business in Spain, unless my parents would let me register it at their house in the UK

Does anyone have experience of working as a freelancer between two countries, preferably Spain in particular? What rules are there on registering as self-employed, and might it be tricky finding a flat without proof of employment?

Any advice or information would be very gratefully received.

Thanks in advance.

Patrick
Collapse

lexical
lexical  Identity Verified
Spain
Portuguese to English
Certainly possible... Sep 14, 2007

Hi Patrick,